baRrrcelona!

Arpil 14, 2008

Hello everyone! Today I am infact writing you from Barcelona, Spain! The hostel that I am staying at is nice enough to provide us computers for checking email and what not. The best thing of all here is the weather! Coming from Garmisch, I’m very accustomed to wearing a heavy jacket, beanie, and boots; but here a light sweater is only needed in the evening. It reminds me so much of the weather near the beaches of Southern California.

Today it was an adventure enough just to find the hostel! This place has no sign markings out front, only a buzz button with a label next to it the size of a price tag saying “Backpackers BCN”. If it wasn’t for my cat-like reflexes I would never have found the place. After finding my Spanish home, I wandered outside to the main streets and just absorbed the character of the city. They reeeaally like scooters here. From my hostel, I walked to Las Ramblas, a pedestrian zone full of shops, restaurants, and street performers. I walked for a good two hours until I found myself at the port. I took a seat at a bench and took in the first view of a beach since I have been in Europe. The sun had started to set and I had been up since 4pm the day before so I felt it was a good time to call it a day and get some sleep for the next days adventure.

April 15, 2008

A friend of mine from work, Carrie, flew into the city today. She will be here for two days before renting a car with a co-worker, Jess, and driving off to France. Today, we conquered this city by foot! We literally walked from one end to the other only stopping along the way for water, orange juice, gum, trail mix, lunch, and pictures. We saw many of the buildings along the way that make this city famous including the Sagrada Familia designed by Antoni Gaudi which, by the way, has been under construction since the late 1800´s.

We also visited a park he designed for the city called Park Guell, which I guarantee is unlike any park you will ever go to in your life! Away from the buzz of the city we enjoyed booming palm trees, live music, and winding trails that lead to colorful sculptures, and stone passage ways. A top it all, the hills provided breath taking panoramic views of the city and Mediterranean Sea. Carrie and I have plans to take the buses all over the city tomorrow stopping off at whatever looks like fun. I am really itching to go to the beach again!

April 16, 2008

After walking around the city for the past few days, I was sure looking forward to taking the buses around the today.  The best deal for us was to take the touristic buses for 20€.  This was good for an all day pass, unlimited rides on three separate routes and a head set that played music and information about the areas we were driving thru.  Not a bad deal at all as long as you don’t mind riding in a bus that quite effortlessly labels you as a tourist.

But, I think that it was well worth it!  We used one bus to catch a ride down to the beach where we got off and ate sandwiches while walking by the water catching in all the sun; we cruised thru the wild streets focused on the near by architecture and listening to the wonderful history surrounding every inch of the city; we used another bus to get to the Gothic district; and finally topped it all off with the final bus riding around the western part of the city away from the beaches and hustle ‘n’ bustle.  We rode these buses from 10am to almost 7pm. *phew*  Even thou these buses look ridiculous and are typical of tourists, God they were fun.  It was nice to not have to worry for once where they hell you were going.  We just got off where ever our curiosity begged and wandered.  Somehow, by the grace of Hermes, we would make it back to these bright little bus stops and hop on again waiting for whatever was up the road.

April 17, 2007

Today is my last full day here in Barcelona.  Ironically the weather here fits my mood.  I will be sad to leave this crazy city and to make my glum worse, the beautiful Mediterranean sunshine is gone.  It has been raining all day, making travel by foot…wet.  I woke up this morning and took my first shower of the trip…yea much needed, and then sat in the snug, dry hostel with my book.  The rain stopped briefly around noon and feeling hungry I ventured out.  With the sun gone, the city seems to quite down.  I walked down the main road near my hostel looking for the first restaurant that made my mouth water.  About half way down, I ran into this Chinese restaurant that made my hunger pains peak.  It was everything that I had hoped for.  My flight leaves tomorrow at 10am and from the hostel it will take me about 2 hours to get my boarding pass and get thru security.  I also start work again tomorrow at 10pm and need to be well rested for that.  I think that I will call it a day here, start packing up and prepare for leaving this wonderful country and city.

April 18, 2008

Well, here I am now…at work.  Showing off all the pictures with friends, I feel like it was only minutes ago I was in the loud streets of Barcelona.  The minute I get back Andrew and I start talking about travels and our next destination quickly became the topic of our conversation.  France is in July, but what about Greece, Croatia, Italy, or maybe even Belgium.  After all, the traveling season has just began!  Where ever we go I hope that we have the luck and fun that I had in Barcelona, Spain.

I took tons of pictures for you guys so be on the look out for an email.

Adios

ChCk

Published in: on April 19, 2008 at 1:46 am  Comments (30)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mcchrischuck.wordpress.com/2008/04/19/barrrcelona/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

30 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful pictures! Sounds like you had a fabulous time.
    Makes me want to book a trip ASAP!

  2. Now that you have had the time to recover, where and when is your next trip? Still waiting for those additional pictures. Love You!
    P.S. How can I add a picture in the little box?

  3. Did you learn your cat-like reflexes from Shasta and Maxie or the
    numerous foster kittens you took in?

  4. Next big trip will be Normany, France in the middle of July. Until then, some minor last min trips are bound to come up. As far as inserting a image for yourself, you need to have an account and then go into your profile options and add an image as your profile pic. That is what I had to do atleast. Jared/Ryan, is that what you guys did??

  5. He said “by the grace of Hermes” … 🙂

  6. Lynette:
    Yes … Chris is right. I went to http://www.wordpress.com and set up an account. At one point I added an image to my profile.

  7. Chris
    When are you going to get rid of this gray background? It is driving me nuts! Not knowing where the cursor is at is going to drive me to cursing!

    On your trip to France, are you just planning to just visit Normandy? How is your French coming along? Did all your Spanish lessons come back to you when you were in Spain?
    I bet Mr. Proffit would be proud!

    If Ryan and Jared set up accounts with wordpress, does that mean you guys also have blog sites? If so, what do you blog about? Should I get one? What if I blog my algebra lessons?
    Do you think my students would actually go online and check it out? How cool would that be? Has somebody already done that?

  8. WOW Spain sounds wondeful im glad you had an awsome time and the Pictures are FABOLOUS! I want to go to greece. ‘member my calendar from BN? I stare it everyday and hope… haha

  9. Yeah I blog… But my site solely focuses on the preliminary, not factual but post-modern typical entities that obviously for-shadow the current model. It’s complicated…

    Kris, you know I don’t believe in luck… but if someone forced me to use it in a sentence describing your current blog… I’d say that you have made yourself one lucky son of a crabby pattie! And I mean that..

    Oh yeah… nice bus! Way to blend in with the locals… You really know how to get plugged into the social pipeline! ha ha.. that’s funny. And who the relish does this Gaudi guy think he is anyway? You have got to have big bells to make a church out of dried snot and melted wax! French people freak me out. Fire marshall bill would have never signed off on that design.

    On a serious note- Lynnette, I’m pretty sure a blog site on Algebra is the best idea me eyes have ever seen. Partial Fraction Expansion Rules!!!

    I was talking to Ryan and he is just putting the finishing touches on his blog site that serves as a library for every type of periodic table ever created! Yeah, apparently he just got his mits on one that actually proves that our moon is made of BBQ spare ribs. Sweet!

    Listen, thats enough for now… I hope I haven’t offended anyone.

  10. Ok Jared you are officially abnormal. I didn’t get a word you said on your blog. What on earth are you breathing in SLO?

  11. Ok seriously, Chris, you have got to change the background. I agree with your Mom. I can’t figure out where I’m typing or what. Don’t make this confusing and complicated for us virgin bloggers!

  12. The Administration of “Times Like These” has viewed the current suggestions with the text box and after weighing out the possible pros and cons, IT will make the necessary changes that will allow the spectrum of viewing and typing productivity to be enhanced.

    Thank you and G’day

    ChCk

  13. Oh thank God Chris!!! Now I can see where I’m typing! How are you?

  14. I am looking at Whiskey who is laying on his back with his feet up in the air snoring!

  15. Ah hey, come on! Don’t you know that Hermes is not only the messenger god, but also the Greek god of travelers?! Its written context is appropriate…thank you. And also, Thank you for all your fantastic comments, the French are weird (look for more on that coming in July), and don’t forget to wash this comment down with a tall, coool, Budweisser!

  16. Chris I think you’ve been hanging with the French people too long. Are you drunk?

  17. Just kidding…

  18. Thanks to the admin of “Times Like These”; now I don’t feel so much like a virgin…

    Well, you guys have inspired me: How about this for the title of my blog site: “Defendit numerous.” (There is safety in numbers.) Great for a math teacher,
    right?

    Not, however, when you consider that “But just as much as it is easy to find the differential of a given quantity, so it is difficult to find the integral of a given differential. Moveover, sometimes we cannot say with certainty whether the integral of a given quantity can be found or not.” (God, I gotta find me a date – and another glass of wine!).

    So Amy, it is not so much what Jared is breathing in SLO
    (we have been wondering about that long before SLO) but actually what it is he is being subjected to in all of those math courses he is taking!

    So by the “grace of Hermes”, the “snoring of Whiskey”, and Jared’s foreshadowing, I wish you all a wonderful
    weekend even though if you are watching the news, the world as we know it is coming to an end.

    ChCk: We love you!!

    P.S. Amy, did you give Chris’ blog site to your mom and Dave? I am sure they would have some great tips for Chris as he is traveling around Europe. Love to all of you!!

  19. One final question for Jared: If Kris is the “Son of a crabby pattie”, I want to know who he thinks the crabby pattie is, Dennis or I? I want to know if I should be the one offended?

  20. Hey Chris, Amy finally gave me your blog. Dave and I have been thinking about you. What an incredible time you are having? Please add us to your messaging.
    Dave’s email: davemcclan@hotmail.com
    And J you are nuts….All that clean air.

  21. Hey Lynette –

    Yes I did give the site to Mom and Dave. Unfortunetly it was just the other day so like me, I’m sure she’ll be reading the site for days to get all caught up!

  22. She said, “… by the grace of Hermes…” 🙂

  23. Hey Kris:

    Am I even going to recognize you when you come home?

    By the way, the picture you on your “Arpil 14” entry truly does look like it could be one of our beaches in Southern California. Which brings up this question: is there any way to spell check on this site? I know Terry has brought up this question already – does this make us virgin bloggers if we don’t know how to do this?

    Love you!

  24. Maybe I will title my blog site “by the Grace of Hermes”. Has a nice ring to it, don’t you think Ryan?
    But I don’t want to plagiarie Kris – do I have your permission?

  25. by the Grace of Hermes huh? Go for it, but I must ask what does it have to do with a math blog?? How about…The House that Pythagoras Built? Get it? no. OK

  26. Laplace!!! Hey everyone what would you say if I told you that we all could go from the time domain into the frequency domain all without leaving your seat?!!

    It’s called the Laplace Transform and it’s the scariest, most f’d up math ever…

    That’s what I’m breathing… and I think it’s giving me the runs… gotta go!

  27. It has nothing to do with math; it just seems to catch a lot of attention. I do like “The House that Pythagoras Built.”

    I am curious if the picture I inserted shows up when I send this message. It is one that I took out at DVL.

  28. You know that it is a pun “on the house that Ruth built”, right? As in Babe Ruth…Yankee stadium? I just would hate for my suggestion to go misunderstood, thats all.

    As far as the runs go…I just rode 42 kilometers thru the German Alps yesterday, and if that doesn’t give ya the runs…I need a softer seat.

    Sorry, no spell check, but I am allowed to edit comments as the Admin and I can spell check them for you.

  29. And here I spent all day searching for the
    “House of Pythagoras Built” in all Jack Johnson
    songs!

    So now that you have clarified that, we are still waiting to hear the answer to the Easter riddle.
    You are worse than GRANDMA!

    Love you!

  30. Well, it seems this blog site has not had a recipe posted to it lately and I just got this one from my cousin Jeanette. The list of ingredients seem typical of what Chris and Andrew might keep in stock. Also, since beer is a key ingredient, I thought Chris could experiment with a variety of German beers. He and his friends can do a taste test and let us know which beer added the most favor or if it made any difference at all.

    101st Airborne Beer Cheese Soup

    1 large can chicken broth
    1 medium jar cheese whiz
    1 can stale beer (not quite sure why it has to be stale)
    cayenne pepper to taste
    bacon bits
    chopped green onions

    Heat broth to boiling; reduce heat and add cheese whiz. Stir until cheese is melted and add beer.
    Reheat but do not boil. Top with bacon bits and green onions.


Leave a Reply

